Jiu Jitsu’s Greatest Grapplers Take Center Stage In Manhattan. This is ‘KASAI Pro 3’!

On August 18, Manhattan Center’s Hammerstein Ballroom in New York will host ‘KASAI Pro 3’. This event will showcase some of Jiu-Jitsu’s most decorated names in compelling feature-fights and a much anticipated eight-man no-gi tournament at 170lbs (77.1kg) to crown KASAI’s inaugural World Welterweight Champion.


Saturday, August 18, 2018

Manhattan Center’s Hammerstein Ballroom
311 W 34th St, New York, NY 10001

Doors open 5:30pm ET. Undercard begins 6pm ET. Main card beings 8pm ET.

Live and on-demand at FloGrappling



Eight-man, round-robin tournament for the KASAI World Welterweight Championship. Featuring:

  1. Ranto Caunto
    Renato Canuto
    (KASAI World Lightweight Champion)
  1. Vagner Rocha
    Vagner Rocha
  1. Marcin Held
    Marcin Held
  1. PJ Barch
    PJ Barch
  1. Matheus Lutes
    Matheus Lutes
  1. Masahiro Iwasaki
    Masahiro Iwasaki
  1. Victor Silvério
    Victor Silvério
  1. Jason Rau
    Jason Rau


  • Two round-robin brackets of four
  • Three 6-minute rounds
  • The competitor with most points in each group advances to the final

Group Scoring

  • Win by submission = 3 points
  • Win by points = 2 points
  • Draw = 1 point
  • Loss = 0 points

Match Scoring

  • IBJJF Unified Rules, plus:
  • 1 point – Submission attempt (near tap) takedown (no control) going from bottom guard to top after a poor submission attempt by the opponent.
  • No advantages
  • All submissions legal
  1. Craig Jones
    Craig Jones
  2. Rousimar Palhares
    Rousimar Palhares
  1. Gilbert
    Gilbert Burns
  2. AJ
    AJ Agazarm
  1. Gianni Grippo
    Gianni Grippo
  2. Jon Calestine
    Jon Calestine

 Ruleset – Craig vs. Rousimar:
10-minute, submission-only, followed by a 5-minute overtime period under KASAI tournament rules, no-gi bout at 185lbs.

 Ruleset – AJ vs. Gilbert:
15-minute, submission-only, no-gi bout at 170lbs. Judge’s decision in the event of no submission finish.

 Ruleset – Gianni vs. Jon:
15-minute, submission-only, no-gi bout at 150lbs. Judge’s decision in the event of no submission finish.

  1. Junny Ocasio
    Junny Ocasio
    (Unity Jiu-Jitsu School)
  2. Ethan Crelinsten
    Ethan Crelinsten
    (Tristar Gym/Renzo Gracie Academy)
  3. No-gi bout at 145lbs
  1. Silvio Duran
    Silvio Duran
    (Vitor Shaolin’s Brazilian Jiu Jitsu)
  2. Edu Gonçalves
    Edu Gonçalves
    (A-Force Brazilian Jiu Jitsu)
  3. Gi bout at 145lbs
  1. Ryan Quinn
    Ryan Quinn
    (Renzo Gracie Academy)
  2. Jon Blank
    Jon Blank
    (10th Planet Jiu Jitsu)
  3. No-gi bout at 185lbs
  1. Frank Rosenthal
    Frank Rosenthal
    (Renzo Gracie Academy)
  2. Ashley Williams
    Ashley Williams
    (Chris Rees Academy)
  3. No-gi bout at 145lbs
  1. Nick Ronan
    Nick Ronan
    (Renzo Gracie Academy/Serra BJJ Academy)
  2. Alex Miller
    Alex Miller
    (Hamptons Jiu Jitsu)
  3. No-gi bout at 175lbs
  1. Joao Pereira
    Joao Pereira
    (Igor Gracie Jiiu-Jitsu Academy)
  2. Thiago Brito
    Thiago Brito
    (G13 BJJ)
  3. Gi bout at 150lbs
  1. Randi Miley
    Randi Miley
  2. Izabella Frezzo
    Izabella Frezzo
    (Notorious Mixed Martial Arts)
  3. No-gi bout at 105lbs
  1. Mikael Yahaya
    Mikael Yahaya
    (Absolute MMA)
  2. Jim Holland
    Jim Holland
    (10th Planet Jiu-Jitsu Bethlehem)
  3. No-gi bout at 140lbs
  1. Jobany Rosario
    Jobany Rosario
    (Clockwork Jiu Jitsu)
  2. Gannon Lang
    Gannon Lang
    (BETA Academy)
  3. Gi bout at 150lbs
  1. Jon Potts
    Jon Potts
    (Monster Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu & MMA)
  2. Craig McDonald
    Craig McDonald
    (Balance Studios)
  3. No-gi bout at 170lbs

6-minute time limit
No-Gi matches: KASAI Pro rules apply
Gi matches: IBJJF unified rules apply